Tidbyt API key

I’ve sent my $1 to lock in the $150 price point for a tidbyt and am really looking forward to this amazing product!

I am a software developer and have a ton of ideas I would like to start working on so I can immediately use them on my tidbyt once I receive it. Is there any way I could get a demo tidbyt api key so I can start playing around with that? It seems pretty straightforward, but I’d like to make actual requests to the API if possible?

2 Likes

Hey @apollorion. That should be possible but isn’t something we’ve done before. Give me a bit to set it up and I’ll direct message you with a key.

Thanks! I appreciate it! I will put it to good use, for sure!

@rohan I would like to be able to do this as well?

I have a few custom scripts that run in a cron or in the terminal right now that would be awesome to convert ahead of time.

Sure. Sorry, hadn’t gotten around to this yet.

@apollorion @JaredWilliams, could you each please download the Tidbyt app for iOS or Android, create an account, and DM me with the email address for your account? I’ll try adding a virtual device to each of those.

I dont think there is a way to DM on this site? Or am i just doing a really bad job of finding it?

I signed up at 7:20pm EST. and my email address starts with

1 Like

Found your account, thanks! Will add a virtual device when I get into the shop tomorrow.

1 Like

@rohan Hi! Could you post a form or something for other devs (like me) to sign up to get an API key?

@apollorion @JaredWilliams You should each see a virtual “My Tidbyt” device when you login to the app now. You can retrieve the API key from the Settings menu. There might be some funkiness since these virtual devices don’t have an official location or timezone set, the “virtual device” thing isn’t a use case we’ve really tested.