Shopify App

So my wife and I moved in April, and I finally finished setting up my office and setup my Tidbyt again. Was excited when I went through the list of new apps to try that there was now a Shopify app. My wife and I run a retail store and also have a Shopify store. But I can’t for the life of me get it to authenticate.

I’m a developer and so I already had an API token for my own development. I used that token and it tells me “UNABLE TO AUTH”. So I created a new token, and get the same error.

Anyone successfully got the app working?

Not the author, but looked at the Shopify App’s code, and the “UNABLE TO AUTH” message only displays on a 401 response from the Shopify API. In Shopify’s API documentation this is more verbosely, “The necessary authentication credentials are not present in the request or are incorrect.”

At first glance the API request generated by the code appears valid with current Shopify API versioning. Is it possible there is a copy/paste error with your API key or store name? I assume the store name must be an exact match as well. If that all checks out, and the code is indeed bug free, perhaps there is an issue with the API access scope for the particular API key you’re using?

Per the Shopify App’s readme: https://github.com/tidbyt/community/blob/main/apps/shopifychart/README.md

“Note that you must generate a Shopify custom app with read_orders access in order to connect to the Shopify API.”

My guess is that’s likely the issue!

Hey there! Thanks for the reply. Totally forgot that the code was probably on GitHub for me to look at! I’ll look at the code and see what I can work out. I have my own node app that I use to sync data from Shopify to a local database and what’s weird is that for me to work with the Shopify API I need a token and a secret. This app only seems to be looking for a token, so that’s why I was wondering if someone had successfully got it to work.

Anyway, thanks for the reply, I’ll look at the code.