Pixlet install on linux/RaspberryPi

hello everyone. Im new to the tidbyt and to coding in general. the thing that hooked me to tidbyt was being able to code for it with its opensource api. recently I stumbled across pixlet. I was able to get it on my mac very easily using hombrew but what im trying now is to get it on a linux. specifically a raspberry pi. i was able to download the tar.gz file and extract it no problem but im not too sure how to install it. ive tried ./configure and no luck ive also managed to install libwebp per the instructions but not sure what to do from here. any suggestions greatly appreciated. thanks all!! :sunglasses:

I’m guessing the problem is that go-libwebp (the Go bindings for libwebp) doesn’t properly support ARM. I’ve opened an issue on GitHub to look into this:

1 Like

Thanks for looking into it! In the meantime ill play around with it on the mac. meanwhile trying different ways to install on the PI

1 Like

Hi,
I was able to build pixlet on a raspberry pi. I did it using docker, I didn’t want to install Go on the raspberry, but should work the same.
Steps to build Pixlet (you need Go installed):

$ apt update; apt install git libwebp-dev -y
$ git clone https://github.com/tidbyt/pixlet.git
$ cd pixlet
$ go get ./...
$ go build
$ file pixlet
pixlet: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, ARM, EABI5 version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib/ld-linux-armhf.so.3, for GNU/Linux 3.2.0, Go BuildID=L3SCqJY0UVob0DlCsab-/JlBN1p2CjnW7_tJp8Oed/kcojjphELWPIAAwwbtPA/BVl4n6uRF2oPpfNGuL_a, BuildID[sha1]=1b1b26f571888886a3ac1c12d0880b75728c9ed9, not stripped

I hope that helps.

2 Likes

That sounds promising. I will follow the steps and see what I get, thanks so much for the help.

1 Like

Thanks @deyavito! So I guess if Go and libwebp-dev are installed it should “just work”. That’s great.

1 Like

Yeah, at least that worked for me. If anyone else could confirm it’d be great.