Over My Head

Greetings, Tidbyt folk.

I’ve received my Tidbyt and as expected, it’s beautiful and very cool. Congrats on delivering a really cool project! That being said, I think I expected something a little more… hmm… robust, maybe? More complete, less open source.

Admittedly, I am not a developer and maybe I misunderstood the true purpose of the Tidbyt, if in fact, it’s for people to develop their own apps more than for people like me to simply display a bunch of different information in my office/studio (in my case). The things I was looking for… news headlines, sports scores, etc. plus some cool one offs like ‘now playing’ on Spotify, maybe my calendar and whatnot are pretty limited.

The two I really wanted that you do sort of have…

I want the news headlines… But I want more sources, not just NYT and BBC, and only one story to display ever (to be fair, I don’t want the text of the story to display at all… just the headlines, much like you’d see in Times Square or something).

For the ‘American Football’ scores, the ability to track a team is nice… but nowhere near the scope of what a sports fan wants, which is all the scores from across the league, and a schedule of upcoming games, betting lines, etc. And that would include the other leagues too, not just the NFL. MLB, NBA, NHL etc. in addition to college sports are definitely necessary.

Again, thinking I misunderstood the main purpose of the product. It’s really, really cool and obviously has a ton of potential. Just wondering if the plan is to expand the offerings for those of us who can’t actually, you know, build the stuff we want. Ha.

Thank you! Congrats again!