How to install Pixlet

Hi - I am not a programmer but have in the past done a couple of projects where the manual installation of code / software was necessary and I mostly got along with the help of readme files or by googling. Now I downloaded the pixlet.zip package and looked at the instructions on github. It says “to install on Mac OS just type: ``brew install tidbyt/tidbyt/pixlet” .

I tried to use the terminal on mac OS to enter this command in the pixlet folder but this did not work. It would be great if anyone could point me to maybe a tutorial (did not find any on google) or maybe give me some pointers how I could get this installed so that I at least could dabble a little bit with it ?

Thanks so much four any assistance

Was the issue that you don’t have homebrew installed? For this brew command to work on the mac, you’ll first need to install homebrew. It’s a command-line software installer on the mac. You can install it by following the steps here.

If homebrew is installed and you’re having problems with the brew command it failing while trying to run the install, you might try running homebrew’s diagnostics with the command brew doctor.

Hope that’s helpful.

I was not even aware that extra software is necessary. Thanks a lot for the help. I’ll use the link you provided - lets see how far I’ll get :slight_smile:

So I installed homebrew and also installed pixlet. Does Pixlet have a user interface or this just a command line tool ? Sorry for the probably stupid question. I’m not a programmer but I’m willing to invest time to learn new things :slight_smile:

It is just a command line tool. The examples and tutorials posted on Tidbyt’s Github account are a good way to become familiar with developing with Pixlet. The community apps codebases are available to the public on GitHub too, which is another good way to get to know how apps are built since they are in effect working examples.