Help Developing Sugarmate and/or Dexcom G6 Reading App

Is there anyway to get Tidbyt to work with the Sugarmate Type1 Diabetes app? I feel like it should be a relatively simple lift from there, but I’m also not a programmer. Would be nice to have that data on the Tidbyt for simple, large format monitoring when in bed at night with just the glucose number and a colored glucose level trend arrow (up, down, diagonal up, diagonal down, straight right.) I wear glasses so I can’t read the level on my phone without them on which mean fully waking up to put them on and check my phone. For those who don’t know, Type1 Diabetes requires 24/7 monitoring to essentially prevent seizures or comas based on low or high sugar levels so parents of kids with it don’t get much sleep! Would be a game changer for monitoring sugar levels at night, even if it was just a simple (or cool scaling) color scheme- green they’re in a good rang (75 - 149); Yellow they’re 150 - 199; Orange they’re 200 - 249; Amber they’re 250 - 299; Blinking Red they’re above 300. Rapid Blinking Blue they’re 74 or below.
Whoever can help me develop this for the Tidbyt, I’d be happy to make a donation to the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation in your name. Nightscout is far too complicated to setup. I see so much more utility for the Tidbyt via direct broadcast of what’s on your phone of simple apps like Sugarmate, but most of the apps on the Tidbyt are gimmicky. I bought it to figure out a way, but I’m out of my league. Many thanks in advance.

2 Likes

The sugarmate software seems pretty closed. I don’t see anything about an api that could be used although there is a web app for windows people. The tidbyt doesn’t have firmware that allows it to transfer data over bluetooth so going directly from the phone to tidbyt won’t work. If there was some sort of webhook functionality in sugarmate that might make it work.

1 Like

Thank you for looking at it Tavis!