CODE QUESTION: Timer to animate a progress bar?

I’m a seasoned web/javascript developer, but new to Tidbyt, Starlark, and Python. I’m trying to make an app but running into a bit of a wall, most likely due to my unfamiliarity with these things. My goal is to have a trivia app that shows a question, and gives you, say, 10 seconds before the answer is shown. During that 10 seconds I want basically a render.Box to grow in width from 0 to 100% across the top of the screen, basically a progress bar. I’ve got some code that seems to be running the 10 second timer correctly but I can’t figure out how to hook up the width of the Box to it properly. Here’s what I currently have:

load("render.star", "render")
load("time.star", "time")
load("math.star", "math")

# define progressBar (set to 0x0 for now so it doesnt display anything yet)
progressBar = render.Box(width=0, height=0, color="#f00")

def startTimer(seconds):
  start = time.now()
  elapsed = 0
  while elapsed < seconds:
    delta = time.now() - start # how much time has passed since we started?
    elapsed = delta.seconds # get int value of above 
    percent = elapsed / seconds # what percent of 'seconds' has elapsed so far?
    w = math.floor(64 * percent) # get same percent of 64 pixels width and round down
    print(delta, delta.seconds, elapsed, percent, w)
    progressBar = render.Box(width=w, height=5, color="#f00") 

def main(config):
  startTimer(10)
  return render.Root(
    child = render.Column(
      children = [
        progressBar,
        render.Text(content="TEMP TEXT")
      ]
    )
  )

When this runs, the print statement appears to output correct values for all the variables, so it appears its tracking the time correctly, but nothing is displayed on screen. As soon as the 10 seconds are up and the while loop completes, the entire screen fills with red pixels, almost as if it’s repeatedly rendering my red progress bar over and over.

What am I missing to get this to display properly?