Busy Light / Status Light

How about a simple status light or busy light of sorts with a set of pre-programed messages or the ability to create your own message. An example could be … half of the screen is lit up in the desired color… Red, Green, Yellow, Blue, etc… and your message on the other side … On The Air, Busy, Conference Call, Reading, Studying, so forth and so on.

Oh this is such a cool idea! This would be awesome to set up like a “LIVE” notification for when I am streaming on Twitch!

2 Likes

Yes, thats exactly the type of use im talking about. Im an amateur radio operator and for me, it would be good for when im on the Air participating in training nets.

It’d be very cool if it could integrate with your calendar (Outlook, Google, etc.) and show abbreviated details of next scheduled meeting, or show “busy” if your are currently in a scheduled meeting.

4 Likes

I think there is another post where someone suggested this interrogation and the Tidbyt folks explained the cost and process involved in doing this… not that they aren’t going to do it… but its apparently somewhat expensive and requires a modification to the software.

If I recall correctly, I think I was referring to integrating with Gmail. That’s an expensive thing that requires special certification from Google, etc. Sorry if I’m misremembering.

This kind of status light thing should be pretty straightforward though.

So this we already have for Google calendar. Still need to add Outlook/Microsoft, but here’s what it looks like when your next GCal event is coming up soon:

Then here’s what happens when the event is currently ongoing:

Also we have an app that lets you type custom messages. For example:

PXL_20210414_194829130

Anyway, @blueclearsky1587, is there something beyond this that you’re looking for?

3 Likes

Very cool! This is exactly what I was looking for. I’m currently at a Microsoft-based shop, so an Outlook integration would be very cool.

4 Likes